Open Access Open Badges Meeting report

Report on the 4'th scientific meeting of the “Verein zur Förderung des Wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in der Neurologie” (NEUROWIND e.V.) held in Motzen, Germany, Nov. 2’nd – Nov. 4’th, 2012

Ralf A Linker1*, Sven G Meuth2*, Tim Magnus3*, Thomas Korn4*, Christoph Kleinschnitz5* and on behalf of the speakers at the 4’th NEUROWIND e.V. scientific meeting

Author Affiliations

1 Department of Neurology, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen, Schwabachanlage 6, 91054, Erlangen, Germany

2 Department of Neurology - Inflammatory Disorders of the Nervous System and Neurooncology, Westfälische Wilhelms-University Münster, Domagkstr. 13, 48149, Münster, Germany

3 Department of Neurology, University Clinic Hamburg-Eppendorf, Martinistr. 52, 20246, Hamburg, Germany

4 Department of Neurology, Klinikum rechts der Isar, Technische Universität München, Ismaninger Str. 22, 81675, München, Germany

5 Department of Neurology, University Clinic of Würzburg, Josef-Schneider-Str. 11, 97080, Würzburg, Germany

For all author emails, please log on.

Experimental & Translational Stroke Medicine 2012, 4:22  doi:10.1186/2040-7378-4-22

Published: 22 November 2012


From November 2nd - 4th 2012, the 4th NEUROWIND e.V. meeting was held in Motzen, Brandenburg, Germany. Again more than 60 participants, predominantly at the doctoral student or postdoc level, gathered to share their latest findings in the fields of neurovascular research, neurodegeneration and neuroinflammation. Like in the previous years, the symposium provided an excellent platform for scientific exchange and the presentation of innovative projects in the stimulating surroundings of the Brandenburg outback. This year’s keynote lecture on the pathophysiological relevance of neuronal networks was given by Christian Gerloff, Head of the Department of Neurology at the University Clinic of Hamburg-Eppendorf. Another highlight of the meeting was the awarding of the NEUROWIND e.V. prize for young scientists working in the field of experimental neurology. The award is donated by the Merck Serono GmbH, Darmstadt, Germany and is endowed with 20.000 Euro. This year the jury decided unanimously to adjudge the award to Michael Gliem from the Department of Neurology at the University Clinic of Düsseldorf (group of Sebastian Jander), Germany, for his outstanding work on different macrophage subsets in the pathogenesis of ischemic stroke published in the Annals of Neurology in 2012.